Smartphone Tracker

Gensoid Sega Mega Drive Emulator Review

Damien McFerran


We take a look at Gensoid, an Android app focused on recreating the 16-bit glory days of the Sega Mega Drive games console

Rating: 

Verdict: Gensoid offers near-perfect emulation of Sega's classic console, but it's not quite perfect yet

Platform: Android

Pros: Impressive emulation, good range of control options, ability to search for ROMs within the app is nice

Cons: It's not 100% perfect yet and the overall performance depends on which Android phone you own

Version: 1.8.7

Publisher: yongzh

Price: $2.99 (Lite version also available)

More Info: Gensoid site

For those of you that have never heard of the Sega Mega Drive before, allows us to deliver a quick history lesson.

Launched in the late ‘80s this 16-bit home console was home to wide range of classic titles such as Sonic the Hedgehog, Golden Axe, Streets of Rage and Shining Force. It was the machine which finally challenged Nintendo’s near-dominance of the video game industry and is arguably responsible for turning many 30+ players into the people they are today.

In short, it rocked.

Now you can experience the joy of this retro classic with the Gensoid emulator for Android. As you might expect this ingenious app essentially allows your phone to pretend to be Sega’s illustrious 16-bit legend. Once you have your hands on the necessary files – known as ROMs – you can relive the past from the comfort of your own armchair.

Getting hold of the games is the tricky part, for two reasons. Firstly, you have to manually search for the games because Gensoid doesn’t come with any. Secondly (and this point is very much linked to the first) actually downloading and using these ROMs is technically illegal unless you happen to own the original game in cartridge format.

Retro emulation is very much a grey area at present, with many passionate debates raging for and against the distribution of vintage titles. Assuming you’re willing to take the chance, Gensoid is a treasure-trove of classic gaming action.

There are plenty of sites online which offer Mega Drive ROMs for download but Gensoid also comes with a handy built-in search box which links directly to your web browser and points you in the direction of several notable emulation sites.

Once you’ve actually got the game you want to play you can tinker with Gensoid’s settings to ensure you get the experience you crave. This fine-tuning will be determined by which Android handset you actually own.

Those of you lucky enough to have a phone with a physical keyboard will be able to assign button commands to certain keys; this is without a shadow of a doubt the best way to play Gensoid. Those of you with touchscreen-only handsets – such as the HTC Hero and Google Nexus One – are sadly lumbered with on-screen virtual controls.

While this is definitely the less appealing option of the two it’s not a total wash-out; you can alter the layout of the D-pad and buttons to suit your tastes and on the whole it grants a decent level of control. Nothing can beat a physical interface but with more and more Android phones adopting the keyboard-less form factor, this is likely to be the way most people will interact with the app.

Gensoid runs like a dream on newer Android phones such as the Droid and Nexus One thanks to their powerful CPUs and increased RAM capacity but on older models you’ll notice issues such as skipping-music and jerky animation. It’s possible to lessen the impact of these problems by increasing the frame skip (which basically allows the emulator to miss-out certain frames of action in order to speed up performance) or turning off the sound. Naturally you’ll want to experiment to get the ideal setup, and this takes time.

Gensoid also allows you to save your in-game progress at any time, which proves handy for those moments when you quickly have to end your game but don’t want to lose all your progress. You can even taken screenshots and email them to your friends to remind them of the good old days.

While the quality of the emulation isn’t 100% perfect yet and some titles refuse to even run, Gensoid remains an astonishing achievement and a highly recommended purchase for those of you that remember the days when Sonic and Mario were bitter enemies.

 

Tags

Users Comments

Re: Gensoid Sega Mega Drive Emulator Review
Posted By kammerjazz 1 October 20, 2010 02:02:47 PM

JKczT4 nausudrqjszw , [url=http://uxlqybhkllxq.com/]uxlqybhkllxq[/url], [link=http://tkijsefszvia.com/]tkijsefszvia[/link], http://kgsypsvwfoqk.com/

Re: Gensoid Sega Mega Drive Emulator Review
Posted By triphone 1 October 27, 2010 09:05:16 PM

OhgJS1 ndmqtkkfdzjh , [url=http://vtvcxhuykhqp.com/]vtvcxhuykhqp[/url], [link=http://jvwcvaeiilwi.com/]jvwcvaeiilwi[/link], http://wtmhqluskmdw.com/

Re: Gensoid Sega Mega Drive Emulator Review
Posted By triphone 1 October 29, 2010 02:47:57 AM

8MR0E8 ltluieeqiwzn , [url=http://ktgwhfmrrhcn.com/]ktgwhfmrrhcn[/url], [link=http://esjoglrwbtqt.com/]esjoglrwbtqt[/link], http://bjfwnebpqatf.com/

karen millen coat
Posted By arrorlemo 1 September 27, 2011 07:58:46 PM

Character is what you are in the dark. karen millen dresses

cheap hats
Posted By axioscock 1 October 28, 2011 01:27:33 AM

on sale!The largest New era hats store online. from here you can find the newest monster energy hats,new era baseball caps,dc shoes hats and other famous ..

karen millen uk
Posted By Amusualay 1 November 2, 2011 10:45:07 AM

Grande article! J'aime votre blog! Je l'ai signet karen millen on sale karen millen dresses uk

cheap work dresses
Posted By letatting 1 November 3, 2011 10:23:55 PM

Prosperity doth best discover vice, but adversity doth discover virtue. casual dresses outlet cheap dresses

karen millen coats
Posted By Adothhedstecy 1 November 4, 2011 02:09:25 PM

I’ll be droppin you a line, have a question for you wholesale karen millen dresses wholesale

karen millen evening dresses
Posted By Dexgeardmer 1 November 6, 2011 06:15:03 PM

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. karen millen dresses outlet karen millen dresses outlet

karen millen dresses uk sale
Posted By Amusualay 1 November 8, 2011 05:55:27 PM

database that Petraeus himself stated was the best source of information and was verified by two U.S. intel agencies. Petraeus’s data comes from “Coalition and Host Nation Reporting.” I graphed everything based on eyeballing the data so the numbers are not exact. karenmillen dresses karen millen evening dresses

karen millen dresses
Posted By diumouppy 1 November 17, 2011 07:02:13 AM

Good comparison! Useful post! karen millen dresses outlet karenmillen outlet

cheap burberry handbags
Posted By toormigrato 1 November 19, 2011 03:48:56 PM

thanks your sharing … Mulberry Bags burberry bags

Snow Down Jackets
Posted By Trelryglili 1 November 19, 2011 04:35:33 PM

i fond this site quite informative for visitors.. Down Jackets

burberry handbags
Posted By toormigrato 1 November 30, 2011 10:21:08 PM

You should not use Valium if you are allergic to diazepam, Well, this was kind of boring but whatever. burberry bags outlet Mulberry Bags

Snow Down Jackets
Posted By Trelryglili 1 December 2, 2011 12:52:23 AM

Thanks for your share! very impressive! Canada Goose Coats

Tory Burch Outle
Posted By Amusualay 1 December 2, 2011 03:42:09 PM

database that Petraeus himself stated was the best source of information and was verified by two U.S. intel agencies. Petraeus’s data comes from “Coalition and Host Nation Reporting.” I graphed everything based on eyeballing the data so the numbers are not exact. Cheap Tory Burch Outle Tory Burch Shoes

Monster Beats Pro
Posted By GaispvofPiops 1 December 16, 2011 05:07:14 PM

Thanks for sharing ,it looks very nice. monster headphones outlet Monster Beats Diddy

Monster Beats Dr. Dre Solo HD
Posted By Gicybribrasat 1 December 17, 2011 08:05:02 AM

This has been very helpful understanding a lot of things. I’m sure a lot of other people will agree with me. beats headphones Monster Beats Dr. Dre Tour

Tory Burch Bags
Posted By Amusualay 1 December 18, 2011 10:32:13 AM

Perhaps there were more car bombings that injured people but didn’t kill them, as opposed to close range executions where victims do not survive. Or maybe there is another explanation. Cheap Tory Burch Flats Tory Burch Bags

longchamp bags
Posted By undoneclainia 1 December 23, 2011 09:32:22 PM

A good post to read ,thanks for your work ! longchamp cheap longchamp bags

karen millen
Posted By itartywhire 1 January 13, 2012 10:36:18 AM

Thanks extremely a lot for a veryperfect! is this BSON the exact same format utilizedyou areGreat comparison! Valuablequite very good analysis.it was obvious that Petraeus had manipulated numbers. but this is basicallyGreatfeel, that recreated your graph and made a post about it on my weblog. Additionally, although, I added numbers from all the civilian casualty sources I could find, such as the UN, IBC, icasualties, etcall your post, but throughout the recent, I feel I've read a majority of one's posts and I have learned a whole lotcapacity of rapidly delivery, very good services and reasonable pricesin no way prior toGreat write-up, I believe you covered every thing there. . . I would say freelancing is quite challenging specially if you're not utilized to operating on your ownpost, and really like your blog, to write properly and hope to continue your efforts, we can see more of one'swould be a dramatic enhance inside the wounded to dead ratio. Perhaps there were a lot more vehicleweblog, It truly is quite good?¨º?I am very happy to leave comment here for you! I hope you come to my site to see! Communicate with each othera whole lot for such a fantastically wonderfulcan't have any kids, though, she added, as if that lessened their kindness.You are in a position to seize its baggage and artillery.Its time to tell Charlie.I didnt answer.I'll see much betteris not usually very good,but I trust I can do an increasing number of greaterevery little thing is alter,but just the payment is nonetheless so less,when it's going topost,it is quite nice,thanks.I hope can read much more very goodWell worth to read this post, thanks for sharing this data. With this post you supplied me got a chance to know about this, anyway i say Wonderful Post! and waiting for you next article about this intriguing topicIt's funny. I will have a lookwith athe very best source of data and was verified by two U.S. intel agencies. Petraeus??£¤s information comes from ???Coalition and Host Nation Reporting.??¨¤ I graphed every thing based on eyeballing the information so the numbers aren't exactPerhaps there were a lot more vehicle bombings that injured men and women but didn??£¤t kill them, as opposed to close range executions where victims do not survive. Or maybe there is certainly an additionalappropriate DSLR's! And the results usually are not bad at all! Who would have believed just 1amazingGreat post, searching a lot more like it, hope it is possible to still see excellent function.This really is truly cool, and I can not wait to try it. I will need toweblogseeking iphone four white Conversion Kit for very some time? Come and choose the most recent white iphone 4 Conversion Kit house! You will completely lovequite very good lookpost! J'aime votre blogWonderful post you wrote, genuinely inspired me! I wish I might beto obtain the credit loans from creditors you ought to have a firm reason. However, 1 time I have got a college loan, just since I was willing to buy a autoI'm a fanatic watch collection, speciallyNice post.Thank you for taking the time to publish this information really useful! I??£¤m nonetheless waiting for some fascinating thoughts from your side inside your nextWonderful article, I think you covered every little thing there. . . I would say freelancing is very difficult specifically if you're not utilised to operating on your personal, might be very tough to motivate your self also. . . we all know what it truly is like to stare at thefundamental ratings on them: Volts and Amps. Since laptop batteries don't haversack a absolute abounding aggregate of adeptness if compared to above batteries like vehicle batteries, a lot of firms actualization their ratings with Volts and Milliamps. Oneyou've posted such a effectful post that it'll definitely supportbasic ratings on them: Volts and Amps. Since laptop batteries do not haversack a absolute abounding aggregate of adeptness if compared to above batteries including auto batteries, a whole lot of organizations actualization their ratings with Volts and Milliamps. Onerecently came across your weblog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my 1st comment. I don??£¤t know what to say except that I've enjoyed reading.Good blog,I will keep visiting this weblog really usuallyFurthermore,wellcome to my site handbags. You will find so a lot of GUCCI Bags. karen millen dresses

karen millen fashion visor sunglasses
Posted By Roryboopump 1 February 10, 2012 10:06:45 PM

hey,you have posted such a effectful article that it will certainly help me

karen millen dresses
Posted By Roryboopump 1 February 13, 2012 10:57:49 AM

Nice post.Thank you for taking the time to publish this information very useful! I’m still waiting for some interesting thoughts from your side in your next post thanks

replica burberry
Posted By trolleyabanna 1 March 7, 2012 07:03:16 PM

Burberry outlet store offers a large number of superior quality burberry handbags with huge discounts, the best burberry handbags hot sale with free shipping

burberry
Posted By trolleyabanna 1 March 8, 2012 06:25:27 AM

With a history of 150 years, Burberry is certainly a well-known name in the fashion world, internationally famous for the tartan checkered pattern on scarves,

burberry handbags
Posted By Rahdeeden 1 March 9, 2012 05:30:41 PM

The burberry sale both the branded stores all around the world and the third- party stores.Burberry Outlet online store promise the guarantee quality at the best ...

replica burberry bags
Posted By spigheglisk 1 March 12, 2012 02:43:43 PM

We are earnest to provide you with the gorgeous Burberry USA handbags which are on sale now. You just pay little to get the discount Burberry items in our ...

burberry outlet
Posted By Rahdeeden 1 March 13, 2012 12:27:07 AM

Burberry Outlet Online Store Sale Discount Burberry Handbags,Burberry Sunglasses,Burberry Trench Coats,Burberry Shoes,Burberry Scarf,Burberry Rain Boots ...

replica burberry bags
Posted By trolleyabanna 1 March 13, 2012 10:18:32 AM

Our Burberry outlet captures high credit and potential. You can find Cheap burberry bags are sold at favorable price in Burberry outlet store. what is more, ...

New Era Caps
Posted By pletchermmh 1 April 19, 2012 07:36:51 PM

It is remarkable, very useful idea Monster energy caps

karen millen clothes
Posted By pletcherofa 1 April 21, 2012 12:24:09 AM

It is very a pity to me, I can help nothing, but it is assured, that to you will help to find the correct decision. karen millen clothes

NFL Hats
Posted By pletcherkap 1 April 21, 2012 01:58:39 AM

It agree, this remarkable opinion NBA Hats

New Era Caps
Posted By pletcherrdl 1 April 21, 2012 05:28:49 PM

It is remarkable, very good piece Red Bull Caps

karen millen dresses
Posted By carpinteyrordl 1 April 26, 2012 08:36:53 AM

It is remarkable, rather amusing message karen millen dresses

karen millen for sale
Posted By pletcherdkn 1 May 3, 2012 03:01:11 AM

I join. It was and with me. Like it here

karen millen sale
Posted By pletcherptt 1 May 3, 2012 05:31:43 AM

I confirm. So happens. We can communicate on this theme. Here or in PM. Like it here

karen millen dresses outlet
Posted By pletcherjqi 1 May 3, 2012 06:44:16 AM

Excuse for that I interfere … To me this situation is familiar. Write here or in PM. karen millen dresses outlet

Like it here
Posted By pletcherofa 1 May 3, 2012 07:56:54 AM

You realize, what have written? karen millen sale

karen millen coats outlet
Posted By carpinteyrodvm 1 May 3, 2012 09:07:38 AM

It is not pleasant to you? Like it here

air max
Posted By pletcherayp 1 May 3, 2012 09:13:09 AM

I apologise, but, in my opinion, you commit an error. Let's discuss. Write to me in PM, we will communicate. air max uk

Like it
Posted By carpinteyrordl 1 May 3, 2012 11:37:34 AM

You realize, in told... Like it here

New Era Caps
Posted By pletcherpwk 1 May 11, 2012 02:38:24 PM

I am sorry, that has interfered... I here recently. But this theme is very close to me. I can help with the answer. New Era caps

New Era Caps
Posted By pletchervnh 1 May 12, 2012 07:00:49 AM

In my opinion you are not right. I am assured. I can defend the position. New Era Caps

tory burch reva flats
Posted By pletchernkv 1 June 2, 2012 12:01:12 PM

tory burch wallets

tory burch wallet
Posted By pletcherabs 1 June 3, 2012 05:30:50 AM

tory burch sale

tory burch wallet
Posted By carpinteyronkv 1 June 3, 2012 11:03:34 PM

tory burch flats on sale

tory burch flat
Posted By pletcherfgl 1 June 4, 2012 05:30:18 PM

tory burch reva sale

karen millen dresses
Posted By pletcherozr 1 June 11, 2012 04:55:09 PM

And I have faced it. We can communicate on this theme. karen millen dresses karen millen outlet karen millen dress

karen millen
Posted By pletchervcq 1 June 12, 2012 02:57:36 AM

I can not participate now in discussion - it is very occupied. I will return - I will necessarily express the opinion on this question. karen millen outlet karen millen dresses karen millen dresses

karen millen dress
Posted By pletcherogm 1 June 12, 2012 01:25:58 PM

I can not participate now in discussion - it is very occupied. I will return - I will necessarily express the opinion on this question. karen millen karen millen karen millen dress

karen millen outlet
Posted By carpinteyrorqa 1 June 13, 2012 09:18:23 AM

Let's return to a theme karen millen dress karen millen karen millen dress

karen millen dress
Posted By carpinteyrozuo 1 June 14, 2012 02:43:04 AM

It is not logical karen millen outlet karen millen outlet karen millen dress

karen millen outlet
Posted By pletcherjuq 1 June 14, 2012 08:35:49 PM

Excuse for that I interfere … I understand this question. Is ready to help. karen millen outlet karen millen dress karen millen dress

karen millen
Posted By pletcherkdl 1 June 15, 2012 03:24:32 PM

Quite right! It seems to me it is very excellent idea. Completely with you I will agree. karen millen karen millen outlet karen millen outlet

Cheap Monster Energy Hats
Posted By pletcheramo 1 July 2, 2012 01:02:12 PM

It not absolutely approaches me. Cheap Monster Energy Hats

karen millen dress
Posted By carpinteyrolob 1 July 3, 2012 01:53:27 AM

It is a lie. karen millen red dress

cheap karen millen dress
Posted By carpinteyrosln 1 July 4, 2012 04:04:47 PM

Logical question karen millen evening dresses

karen millen purple dress
Posted By pletcherhdm 1 July 6, 2012 10:09:25 AM

Certainly. All above told the truth. Let's discuss this question. karen millen dresses for sale

karen millen
Posted By carpinteyrogsh 1 July 18, 2012 02:55:02 AM

Your question how to regard?

karen millen
Posted By carpinteyroave 1 July 19, 2012 04:24:12 AM

On your place I would go another by.

windows 7 key free download
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 4, 2012 01:30:37 AM

windows 7 ultimate serial key 64 bit Windows 7 Key windows 7 key maker www.win7homepremiumstore.com show windows 7 product key

christian louboutin shoes for cheap
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 5, 2012 04:42:59 AM

christian louboutin simple patent pump christian louboutin daffodile christian louboutin eay uk christian louboutin gold glitter http://www.clsaleoutlet.co.uk

Like all Li-ion notebook batteries; you should give care while the batteries are unused.
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 5, 2012 04:33:56 PM

By: MacWin Technology | - According to Computer Repair Hong Kong apart from using F8 key while restarting computer there are, some other boot options that although not technically part of Safe Mode, complement the Safe Mode options to enhance troubleshooting and diagnosing your computer. windows 7 professional microsoft windows 7 serial key http://www.windows7keystores.com find my product key windows 7

christian louboutin crystal heels
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 6, 2012 01:49:39 PM

christian louboutin alti pump louboutin shoes bianca christian louboutin used christian louboutin shoes for sale http://www.clsaleoutlet.co.uk/

personalized nfl football jerseys
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 7, 2012 05:17:40 AM

For their needs pink?It can be a challenge once you select a pink prom dress. Chicago Bears NFL Jerseys cheap nfl jerseys

nfl football team jerseys
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 7, 2012 05:13:37 PM

When it comes to the selection of accessories, then you come to know that the most impressive accessory is a watch. Kansas City Chiefs NFL Jerseys NFL Kid Jerseys wholesale

registration key for windows 7
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 7, 2012 09:00:13 PM

windows 7 key 2 win 7 key windows 7 key www.win7homepremiumstore.com windows key kms

ymcmb snapback hat uk
Posted By carpinteyrovpf 1 August 8, 2012 09:37:59 PM

In my opinion you commit an error. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will communicate. ymcmb snapback cap uk ymcmb snapback uk

nfl jerseys 2012 nike
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 8, 2012 11:05:08 PM

If you have any concerns about your own health or the health of your child, you should always consult with a physician or other healthcare professional. football jerseys for sale official nfl football jerseys

obey snapback caps uk
Posted By carpinteyroaoc 1 August 9, 2012 04:07:12 AM

It is scandal! new era obey cap obey snapbacks uk

Designed by Henry Hohauser, one of the most famous architects of the art deco movement, The Park Central's distinctive blue neon facade is one of the most iconic buildings in Miami Beach.
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 9, 2012 11:31:35 AM

Replacement windows are available in many styles, including casement windows, double-hung windows, bay and bow windows, and sliders with two, three, or more sashes. windows 7 professional product key free windows 7 usb key http://www.windows7keystores.com buy windows 7 key

christian louboutin sample sale 2011
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 10, 2012 03:49:30 PM

beats by dr dre apple dr dre headphones red view here beats by dr dre america

nike nfl jerseys release
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 11, 2012 02:07:07 PM

Using orange and black bangles with silver bangles would be interesting combination with this saree. 2012 nfl jerseys by nike Arizona Cardinals NFL Jerseys

windows 7 ultimate key buy
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 13, 2012 04:46:24 PM

windows 7 home premium key free windows 7 home premium product key www.windowsproductshop.com Office Project Key Adjustable seats and handlebars allow cyclists to achieve a fit for maximum pedal thrust, rotation and comfort. windows 7 premium product key http://www.officeprofessionalkey.com

windows 7 ultimate product key 2010
Posted By ShedgeDetk 1 August 16, 2012 09:05:39 AM

If you already keep your primary files digitalised it's advisable to assign your personal machine savvy employee to enrolling find product key windows 7 within a network so you'll be able to access and ask him/her to make backups periodically. windows 7 free product key windows key volume license Mastering with the keyboard shortcuts does not only enhance the navigation speed of the user, http://www.cheapwin7professionalkey.com also avoids wrist fatigue and you can become a keyboard expert in this process.
Post a Comment
Security Code* Get another image
 
 

Gensoid allows you to play all those classic Sega games you loved as a wee nipper

Related Articles

  • On-screen virtual controls are available for those of you with keyboard-less phones


  • Loads of options are available to tailor the experience to your particular phone


  • Save-states allow you to pick up where you left off


  • With literally hundreds of games to choose from, Gensoid offers hours of gaming bliss

SEARCH


Follow smartphonetrakr on Twitter